Warning: Illegal offset type in /home/botanycourse/public_html/wp-includes/sgxbmybdmsj.php on line 277

Copelandia is a genus of mushrooms consisting of at least 12 species.[1] Most Copelandia species have a long, thin fragile stem and are delicate, growing in grasslands on dead moss, dead grass, sand dunes, decayed wood, and dung. They are found in the tropics and neotropics of both hemispheres. The Copelandia genus is a subgenus of Panaeolus created by Abbé Giacomo Bresadola (1847–1929) in honor of Edwin Bingham Copeland (1873–1964), an American who gathered fungi in the Philippines and sent some collections to Bresadola. Many American mycologists place members of Panaeolus which stain blue into Copelandia, but many European mycologists use the genus Panaeolus instead. At the moment the species names of both genera are synonyms.

Members of Copelandia are white to gray or tan, and the cap and stem stains blue due to the psilocin content. The cap is never viscid and often develops a cracked appearance as it dries out. None of the mushrooms in Copelandia have a partial veil and the gills always have thick walled pseudocystidia, often with crystals at the ends. Chrysocystidia are never present.

Written on February 14th, 2012 , Botany, Mycology Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Botany Course is proudly powered by Utku Mun and the Theme Adventure by Murat Tatar
Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS).

Text Back Links Exchanges Text Back Link Exchange
Botany Course

Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.